Carving My Mark

A person who is very important to me thanked me for being such a great friend today, and also told me to look toward the future, look into getting my Phd, and that I will do great things – not to let now get in the way of the future.

And as I was sitting coloring my sun visor for my car (it’s finished and beautiful), I was thinking over this.  I remember my 5th grade teacher, Mr. Prunty, writing in my yearbook that I was going to accomplish great things, and he would keep an eye out for my name in the future.  While he may have wrote this for countless kids – several other teachers told me the same throughout my school career.  And I have always wanted to change the world.

The issue is, how?  One of my greatest passions is education. I have dreams of the educational world I want my son to grow up in.  However, it often seems any way of changing our current education system lies in politics – A world I never had much desire to enter.

I admitted to myself this evening, that I also become frightened of stepping out of my box, and doing something new. I’m used to the things I’m good at and I know what those are (especially school).  So thinking about politics, or higher up roles in education tends to scare me. Hence one of the reasons I went back for a second masters in Leadership – it is not just that I could not decide what to get a Phd or EdD in, it is also that I know I need to improve those skills.

So over the next year, I hope to challenge myself. I want to step outside my box, work on my leading skills, and also do new things.  I want to challenge the status quo.

I also want to write. Two of my awesome friends have been bugging me about this later. So often I say that I just don’t have the time. And it’s really not true. I just do not make the time.  I think it because I am scared to death that I will actually finish something and face rejection at every angle – because I have before.  Plus, I’m just lazy when I get home from work.

Here is to a year of challenges and goals.  Wish me luck. And keep me accountable. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Carving My Mark

  1. Hey, we’ve all got to get ourselves going somehow! I wish you luck 🙂 (And if you find something that truly helps get you motivated to write, let me know, because I could use it too haha!)

    Like

What do you think?

