The Princess and the Page (Book Review)

The Princess and the Page by Christina Farley:

“A dark secret lurks in Keira’s family. She comes from a long line of Word Weavers, who bring their stories to life when they use a magical pen. But for generations Word Weavers have been hunted for their power. That’s why Keira is forbidden to write. When Keira discovers her grandma’s Word Weaver pen, and writes a story for the Girls’ World fairy-tale contest, she starts to wonder if anyone ever truly lives happily ever after. Inspired by the life and times of Gabrielle d’Estrées, a real French princess who lived during the 1500s, The Princess and the Page follows the mystical journey of a modern-day ‘royal’ who goes from having a pen in her hand to wishing for the world at her fingertips. ”

I saw this book at the SOKY Bookfest, and instantly fell in love.  Just the name grabbed my attention, and I had to go find out what it was about. After reading the brief description, I was hooked.  This is the story I would have wanted as an 8 year old. I had to have a copy. The author signed it to “Princess Fallon.” My inner child was giggling in glee.

Now, I will say this is certainly a child’s story.  The writing is perfect for 8-10 year olds, as are the characters. So while I loved it, part of me was unfulfilled.  Now I need an adult version of this story as well.

I read it, and told four different people I knew with little girls that they needed to get it immediately.  I love the idea of being able to have stories that you write come to life.  The dynamic between the mom and daughter is important, and I thought it was a fun take on the fairy tale every little girl dreams of.  In a moment of anger, she quickly writes that the bad person wins. And it comes to life.

This is a fast paced book – as it probably must be to keep young readers’ attention.  I personally wished for more development, and more of the mom’s story – but again, I’m an adult so things differ there.  The writing is fun, and the snippets at the beginning of each chapter are cute.  Character wise, Kiera was fun (but also trying to figure out who she was, and I wish we had seen more of that develop), Bells was a bit selfish, and Chet was the cute romance factor.

This book also shows that our words have power. The things we do can affect everything (though maybe not change the past), so I feel like that is a great lesson.  The end was fun, and slam packed with a nice twist.  It leaves plenty of room for future books without leaving us hanging on a cliff.

Read it to your kids! Read it for yourself!

What do you think?

