Love, Lies and Hocus Pocus

The Lilly Singer Adventures by Lydia Sherrer

First, let me say that I met Lydia Sherrer in person at the SOKY Bookfest. She was actually on my Young Adult Fantasy Panel. She was very vibrant, a great dresser, and was quite funny.  I enjoyed talking with her before and after the panel, and am very glad that I received the first two of her books for moderating the panel (and really wish I had bought the third and fourth).  There are four + a novella currently published and there will be a total of 12.  She funded the publishing of these books via Kickstarter, which is kind of awesome. I wish I had had the chance to talk with her more.

Love, Lies, and Hocus Pocus – the Lily Singer Adventures is a witty, fun-filled urban fantasy series about a bookish and awkward wizard, Lily Singer, her troublemaking witch friend, Sebastian Blackwell, and her talking cat, Sir Edgar Allen Kipling. They must work together to save the world from magical mayhem and bring peace between magical and mundane races. Will they succeed? Or will the world be plunged into an era of darkness and war?” via Kickstarter.

Love, Lies and Hocus Pocus: Beginnings

Saving the world is such a bother when it makes you late for tea. By day, book-loving wizard Lily Singer manages library archives. By night? She sleeps, of course. In between, she studies magic and tries to keep her witch friend Sebastian out of trouble. Much to her displeasure, he finds it anyway and drags her along with him. From unmaking ancient curses to rescuing a town lost in time, Lily and Sebastian fight to avert magical mayhem. Meanwhile, Lily’s mysterious past begins to unfold–a past hidden from her by those she trusts most. Will she be able to discover the truth despite them?”

At only 240 pages, this is a quick read. You really won’t want to put it down. I was a little amazed at how much I loved it.  Lily is a librarian, and prim/proper, and loves Tea. How could I not love this book?  The snarky humor between her and Sebastian is also great.  I was not expecting the format of the book, but found I loved it. Basically, you get two stories from Lily’s point of view, and an interlude between them from Sebastian’s point of view. I liked having two different stories in one book.  I also love the witch/wizard concept. The stories are serious but light hearted, and I liked getting to know the characters and the world.

Love, Lies and Hocus Pocus: Revelations

After finishing the first, I immediately picked up the second. Again, a quick read, but I think this one goes even more in depth to the story and character of Lily, and I really wish I had bought 3 & 4. In an attempt to decide if I could spend any more money (I couldn’t), I found the novella for free on Kindle! I instantly downloaded it and finished it that night. There is now a TALKING CAT! What can be better than that? A sarcastic, snarky cat to boot. It ends on an almost cliffhanger, and I am getting the third/fourth book soon.

“Love, Lies and Hocus Pocus: A Study in Mischeif” – A Novella

Now this was just cute. I loved the chance to see these two actually meet. And reading it after the second book worked well. Truly adorable. I love these two. And the cat.

What do you think?

