NaNoWriMo!

National Novel Writing Month is almost upon us!  I think I may start setting an alarm on my phone to yell at me to plan and plot and write.  October is one of the intensive advising times for me, and I’ve had 8 – 9 appointments some days, and I average at least four a day with other things I have to get finished. It’s been fun.

I didn’t talk much about it before, but my new job as Academic Advisor is awesome. I’m loving it, and I’m so happy I can say that. Between that and my book review writing, I’m a pretty happy person (now if only I could get paid for my book reviews. Free books is pretty awesome though).  I advise students within our program, work with faculty to make improvements, and also completely redid our department’s website.  I’m hoping to be coming up with some more projects soon.

My hubby is also back in school, and will graduate with his degree next December, which will be awesome. Xander is doing well, and crazy as per normal. He loves Superman, and Spiderman, and superheros, Toy Story, and is still obsessed with the TMNT, and loves Turtles.  He likes Disney movies and penguins, he is playing a limited amount of video games (Spelunky and Rayman) because my husband is a gamer (and I’ve started playing those too).  He has a great vocabulary, we read every night (current the Illustrated version of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone), and we build houses and knock them down and fight the Foot and all kinds of fun stuff. By the way – if you love my blog you can always get my kid something fun (https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/giftlist/1I0FZU079G5KW/ref=nav_wishlist_lists_4) or to read (https://amzn.com/w/WXOZXRZ237AB).

Isn’t he cute? He tells us he is “too big” for things he doesn’t want to do (including using the toilet which is not going well), and that his “butt is gone” when we need to change his diaper.  He be silly.

I’ve also been making Story Wreaths (as I call them), and here is my latest which was a birthday present for my friend Candace:

I also made a book pumpkin!

So there is a brief overview of things I have been doing.  I have not been writing much besides my many, many book reviews and things I do for work.  Tomorrow, that changes!

As a side note, I kinda want a new blog title. What do you think?

Have a great night!  Tomorrow I begin the NaNoWriMo prep, talking about what I will be doing, my plans, how I won before, and what I plan to improve this time around!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo!

  1. Oh wow! I love the book wreath!

    This is my first year doing NaNoWriMo and I’m scared to death! I hope that the writing community here on WordPress can provide some guidance and inspiration.

    Also, your son is absolutely adorable. I spent 5 years working for Disney and can completely attest to the happiness Disney magic brings to kids’ faces. 🙂

    Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love making the wreaths, and have thought about selling them.

      The WordPress community is pretty great. I have done NaNo for a few years now, but only won once. Last year I did not really participate because my mother-in-law passed away on November 2nd, and I just did not feel up to it. There are so many blogs with tips and ideas – just remember that not everything works for everyone!

      I love Disney! That is so awesome that you worked for them. I have never been to Disney, so I’m holding out until my son will be able to remember it. I cannot wait!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

