The Goodreads Challenge

If ever there was an invention for people who love to read, it is Goodreads.  I stumbled across it a couple of years ago and fell in love. The more I use it, the more I love it.  Not only can I look up books, see reviews, meet authors, and post my own reviews, but I can enter in contests for Giveaways (of which I’ve won several), and have even been sent books straight from the authors.  It’s a wonderful place.

To top it off – I LOVE that they have the Goodreads reading challenge every year.  Last year, I fell short. And it depressed me. So this year my goal was once again 50 books for the year.  I’m 7 books ahead. If you’d like to see what I’ve read, click here. Last year, I read 41 out of 50.

If you are not on Goodreads, go check it out.  It’s a fun way to keep track of when you read books. You can update your currently reading shelf, say what page you are one, and even add in comments. Are you hating the book at the moment? Write that in! Loving it? Add that too.  As a reviewer, it can be a nice trick to remember some key feelings.  Besides all that, its just fun to look back on.

As someone who reads a lot, its an easy way to go back and check when you have read something.  You can even surf book lists and add in books you know you have read. I really need to do more of that. I wish this had been around since I was tiny.

So, if you haven’t checked out Goodreads, you should.  Challenges are good things, and setting a goal you can visibly track for reading can be just as important for writing goals. Reading influences our writing in a way that not much else can. It can help us pick up vocabulary, and give us new ideas we may discover ages from now.  As writers, it is what we are trying to create – a world within pages that people want to read.  So be a reader, as nothing else can help you be a better writer.

2 thoughts on “The Goodreads Challenge

  1. I’m still thinking about doing the challenge, but I consider myself (for lack of a better term) a “bad reader.” Like, I read in little installments, just a few pages at a time, sometimes not more than five or six a day. And I have NO concept of “skimming.” We’ll see…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I devour books sometimes when I start them, reading one in two days. Which is fun with a toddler. “Play with your toys” “I’ll chase you around the house three times, and then I get to read a chapter” “NO DONT SPLASH WATER YOU WILL RUIN MY BOOK!”

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

