Alphabet Series: Judgment – Jane Eyre

Judgment:

Everyone knows that the bible says not to judge others. I was raised Christian and heard this growing up quite often.  The thing I remember thinking the most was that my grandmother went to church faithfully, but instantly came back and during lunch gossiped nonstop and passed several crazy judgments herself.  It used to annoy me nonstop, even when I was in middle school.  You also were not allowed on her lawn in shorts past a certain childhood innocence – it was disgraceful.

I will not lie – I often find myself making some silly judgment of someone else based off a single action or silly notion such as what they are wearing. I try very hard not to, and tend to realize the instant I have done it. It takes practice.  I am not doing this because of what the bible says.  I believe everyone deserves a chance.  After all, I was a “goth” in high school, and I know plenty of people judged me wrongly.

So just remember, not everyone is what they seem, you never know what someone has faced or gone through, and most of the time you do not know the whole story.  We will all make judgments.  It’s part of our wiring, I think.  But, stop, think, and at least realize what and why you are making the ones you do.

I will say that looking at the numerous definitions is quite interesting because it goes from “the ability to judge, make a decision, or form an opinion objectively, authoritatively, and wisely, especially in matters affecting action; good sense; discretion” to “the forming of an opinion, estimate, notion, or conclusion, as from circumstances presented to the mind” (dictionary.com)

Jane Eyre:

This is a class that everyone should read.  I first read this book in middle school, and have reread it several times.  I am actually hoping to read it again soon.  There have been several movie versions, and the latest one was not too bad. It has excellent plot twists, wonderful writing, and that tortured soul romance of earlier times we so love to read.

Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed.

With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bronte’s innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers.”

4 thoughts on “Alphabet Series: Judgment – Jane Eyre

  1. I love the story of Jane Eyre, especially this passage:

    “Do you know where the wicked go after death?”
    “They go to hell,” was my ready and orthodox answer.
    “And what is hell? Can you tell me that?”
    “A pit full of fire.”
    “And should you like to fall into that pit, and to be burning there for ever?”
    “No, sir.”
    “What must you do to avoid it?”
    I deliberated a moment: my answer, when it did come was objectionable: “I must keep in good health and not die.”
    ― Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

    Got to love the classics! This book was written so long ago, and yet I can still picture young Jane saying these lines. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

