Boom, Boom, Boom

Yesterday was a bad day. The thing is, it was a bad day following one excellent weekend. My mom finally came down from VA for our Christmas (snow has delayed it quite a bit), and then she was snowed in here. I wound up getting to spend two extra days with her, which was utterly fantastic.  I was given many wonderful presents that shows just how well my family knows me (including Starbucks gift card, a Doctor Who water bottle, Eiffel tower wine glasses, and a Spell book wallet).  It was great.

But then yesterday, after hours of looking up information about phone interviews, I found out that my interview today was canceled as all their searches for new positions have been put on hold because of the new budget cuts from the government in KY. Woot. It just added levels of stress. And so this morning I woke up with a migraine from hell.

The thing is, yesterday was not all bad. My mom made it home safe, which is wonderful. I also found out that Mary Weber (Author of the Siren trilogy of which I have reviewed the previous two books) was sending me an early copy of Siren’s Song the third and final book. I was so happy about that! I got the message when I woke up and was getting ready to work. Excellent start to the day. Then after the rather sucky news at work, I worked with my students, and came home. I played with my son, I finished reading As You Wish by Cary Elwes (Westley) and watched The Princess Bride again.  My son crawled up and passed out cuddling me.

There were great moments yesterday. It is so easy to be lost in the horrible ones and dwell only on those.  What happens will happen, and I am trying to remember that.

As to my writing… well it’s taken a hit. I don’t know the exact numbers but I haven’t written since last Friday. Though I am behind a couple of book reviews I need to write, and I’m writing this blog.  I’m technically ahead quite a bit on my word count because I tend to write more than 250 words a night. So it won’t hurt, as much. But it still hurts. I was snowed in without my laptop Sunday though, and spending all the time I could with my mom was more important 🙂

Some times, writing just has to be put on pause for life. I don’t regret it. Now on to write an article about college, and finish a form for my students.

I hope all of your writing endeavors are going well!

5 thoughts on “Boom, Boom, Boom

  1. You know what I think is amazing, is that your attitude here at the end is so positive and uplifting. I’ve been having a rough time lately, just a collective of things, and your transparency here is just so inspiring. Thank you! You’re such a lovely human!

    P.S. I have terrible chronic migraines too, so I send you prayers that they get better.

    All the positive vibes and blessing to you!! Thanks for inspiring me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for this 🙂 It just adds to the good moments we need to remember. I’m most happy to inspire. This means a lot.

      I had another migraine yesterday and I’d managed to go almost a month before the one last week. Weather in KY isn’t helping at all! Do you have the Migraine Buddy app? I find it helps keep track of them!

      I hope you are having a wonderful day, and that things get better for you as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hadn’t heard of that app, but thank you for mentioning! I will def be picking it up now! I’m on medicine and keeping good track of breakthroughs is so helpful for my doctor. I keep track in my journal, but sometimes I forget. An app just might be my perfect solution. Thanks!

        And you’re so right, it does just add to the good moments that we have to remember and to cherish! ❤

        Like

What do you think?

