Book Review: What Color is Your Parachute? 2016

As I am currently preparing to be out of a job at the end of June, finding a new job is high on my list. Also, a higher paying job would be nice. Even though I’ve been offered my current position for a second year, I’d be out of a job in July and August.

So when I had the chance to get A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers: What Color is Your Parachute? 2016 by Richard N. Bolles, I decided it was a good decision.

Untitled.pngAnd it was. This book is sorted into incredibly useful sections like “16 tips for Interviews” and “Google is Your New Resume.”  It even has COLORED TEXT! It gives great advice, and useful information. Like the fact that job hunting takes much longer now, and the average job lasts a much shorter time. On top of that, getting the salary you want is now harder than ever.

Speaking of salary, I was super excited to see a whole a chapter on how to negotiate your salary.

This is a great read, and I now feel more prepared than ever. And seeing as how I had a whole class that was supposed to address finding a job in my last semester at Grad school, this is saying something.

4.5/5 stars 🙂

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

What do you think?

