More NaNoWriMo Tips

First off, sorry I disappeared over the weekend. It was chaotic.  I kept falling asleep with my son. All good stuff. So, I shall do a writing prompt today, maybe even post a writing prompt of my own, and I shall share these tips 🙂

For future reference, if you buy candy for your kids at the high school, remember there is a no peanut rule and don’t buy Reese’s…

Last but not least before I get into a few tips: I have another published book review! It’s over Golden Son by Pierce Brown, in the Bowling Green Daily News.

nano-2015-participant-banner

Word Count: Various people do word counts differently. Most set a goal every day of what they need to write. However, this comes back to you – do what works best for you. To write 50,000 words in 30 days, you need to write an average of 1,667 words a day. However, most people try for at least 2,000 or 3,000.  This way, on days they cannot write, they have a few words stored up.  If you know you won’t be able to write much on the weekends, or you can never write on Tuesdays, prepare for this and figure out what you need to write every day.

Have a goal is a GOOD thing. It helps keep you accountable. This also helps if you are in a group (previous tip) because you can keep yourself accountable with them.  Amanda has started posting a daily goal and what she did at the end of the night on her blog. Seeing as how she is my main writing buddy (she pesters me to death during NaNoWriMo, as she should) and I know she will be asking, I am stealing this from her and doing it daily starting November 1st. Then she doesn’t have to ask 🙂

Use Tools:  I love Microsoft Word. I know how to do so many things within it. It’s my go to for editing. (If you don’t know how to use all the review functions, you should figure it out!).  However, for NaNoWriMo, it is not what I use. Scrivener is my love. They will let you have a 30 day download, and then if you win, you get it for a discounted rate.  USE IT! Or find something equally awesome. I’m sharing one later down on the page.  But the point being: do what makes things easier for you. There are tools to design maps, to plot, and much, much more.

Have Snacks: So, I know most of us have go to items when writing. At one point, if I wrote one thousand words I got to eat the sour patch kids watermelons… But you want to be able to stay put while writing. Have something to drink, something to snack on, make sure you aren’t starving, etc. etc.  It helps!

Set The Mood: This may sound silly, but I know many writers who have playlists on youtube they listen to (which is now annoying due to ads) or certain cds they listen to when writing.  They may turn off overhead lights and just use a lamp. All of these things work, but again, do what works for you. Whatever makes you at the most relaxed, but not too relaxed. You don’t want to fall asleep! Oh, and remember to keep good posture – getting a crick in the neck, leg cramps, or a migraine from sitting funny will really kill the mood!

Okay – that’s it for now!

On “Keeping Procrastination At Bay” I found the “Write or Die” program. Looks interesting and may be something you want to try! Here is her blog on it!

What do you think?

