The Confessions of a Writer|Tag

I was tagged by Amanda McCormick in the Confessions of a Writer tag started by Nicolette! This looks like fun!

the-confessions-of-a-writer-tag

The Confessions of a Writer Tag was created by Nicolette at A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly. It is a ‘get-to-know’ the writer interview tag, dedicated to spotlighting the creative process, works in progress, and connecting to other writers.

Rules of the Tag:

  • Please link back to A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly’s post, so that the original rules are always accessible to anyone who is curious and wants to participate!
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag your friends and fellow writers – it’s up to you how many!

The Questions:

  1. When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?
    I began writing in elementary school. I remember writing a story about a Pencil and Pen getting married, and inviting crayons to their wedding. It takes place after everyone leaves the school. Kind of the whole “toys come alive at midnight” theme. I was always a nerd.  I loved it. Never stopped writing.
  2. What genre do you write?
    I flip flop. Mostly fantasy. I wrote poetry quite a bit for awhile. I change every once in a while and write something crazy.  I would love to write historical fiction, and am planning a novel along those lines soon.
  3. Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?
    I am currently working on a project called Fated Destiny.  I began this as a short story for my Creative Writing class my Junior year… so four years or so ago. I was inspired by the lightning while driving home in a storm. Immediately went home, found a note, penned a page and transferred to my laptop.  25 pages later, I loved it. My class loved it. I kept working on it. Then life happened, I wrote less, wrote other things and finally picked it back up for Nanowrimo last year, thanks to Amanda.  Then I decided to rewrite it in first person, so scrapped quite a bit and did that.  This year I hope to finish it.  I’m not sure where I’m going, and that’s been difficult.
  4. What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
    As mentioned above my wonderful story about a Pen and Pencil. I wonder if I can find that again? I think I was in fourth grade.
  5. What’s the best part about writing?
    Creating a world, a person, the characters.  You almost transform while writing. You are swept up into this other world, and it is at your fingertips. I love that feeling. I also love to edit.
  6. What’s the worst part about writing?
    Finishing a story? I seem to have a hard time with that unless its a short story.
  7. What’s the name of your favorite character and why? (This can be from a book by another author or from your own work. Book crushes are perfectly acceptable here as well.)
    Mr. Darcy has to be a favorite of mine. I tend to love the historical guys. I have to say though, that I have a peculiar love for Edward from the Anita Blake series. I’m sure there are many others.
  8. How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
    Lately, I’ve been back to trying to write every day. I let myself get carried along into the chaos and then don’t write and it catches up to me.  I’m writing at various times, but nighttime when I can listen to the crickets and the silence seems to be the best. It helps that my energetic 18 month old son is also asleep then.
  9. Did you go to college for writing? Or if you haven’t been to college yet, do you plan to?
    I actually was a Creative Writing major until my final year.  I switched to Literature. I did not want to take the nonfiction writing classes, as the teacher had a horrible rep, and there were more lit classes I wanted. I also did a double major in History.
  10. What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors, or grammar errors?
    I … ack.  All of them? Though I have to say if I see a sentence with misspelled words or chatspeak I go a little crazy.
  11. What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
    Write every day. Challenge yourself. Write about what you love.
  12. What advice would you give to another writer?
    Never stop writing. Although, if you do, get right back to it when you can. I stop myself, without even realizing it. But its more than riding a bicycle, it is part of you. You begin to notice that something is missing. You feel it gnawing at you. Don’t write to be published.  Sure, that’s all of our end goals, but we write for us. We write what is important to us.
  13. What are your favorite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
    Stephen King’s On Writing novel is one of my favorites ever, and a copy sits on my desk. Another is Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott, and Naked, Drunk and Writing: Shed Your Inhibitions and Craft a Compelling Memoir or Personal Essay by Adair Lara. The NaNoWriMo forums, and wordpress.
  14. Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
    I play with my son, I’m a TV Zombie.  I love to read, and be with my family. I occasionally play games and magic.  I like to decorate, and organize.  I love doing research.
  15. What is the best book you’ve read this year?
    I have read so many great books this year… Red Rising was really fantastic. Out of the box that I have read, though, would be The Madwoman in the Volvo.
  16. What is the best movie you’ve seen this year?
    I have seen so few movies this year. I’m not even sure.
  17. What is your favorite book or series of all time?
    Lord of the Rings. Also, Harry Potter.
  18. Who is your favorite author?
    J.R.R. Tolkien and Jane Austen.
  19. What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
    I am going to finish my novel. Seriously. Maybe start something new. Maybe I already have 🙂
  20. Where else can we find you online?
    You can find me on Twitter @FallonWillowBee. I’m on LinkedIn. Facebook. Here.  Youtube. I also publish book reviews for the Edmonson Voice, and occasionally in the Daily News.  All can be linked to from here.

And now for the people I’m tagging… I mostly find blogs randomly… so:

Monica Spees, Nick Simmons, and anyone else who wants to join! Link in the comments!

4 thoughts on “The Confessions of a Writer|Tag

What do you think?

