Horror Story Prompt #3

The picture I used before with the prompts refuses to load on my computer – but its still on Amanda’s post… So I’m looking there. Going with number 8, and it will start out my story. So here it goes!

I awoke to the sound of the baby monitor crackling with a voice comforting my firstborn child. As I adjusted to a new position, my arm brushed against my wife, sleeping next to me. The horror of the realization it was not her voice froze me to the spot. Maybe I had just imagined it. I was half asleep. Or maybe it was feedback. That happens.  It does. I hear about it all the time.

I debated waking my wife. She wasn’t getting much sleep in between feeding our daughter. I looked at her peaceful face and decided to just go check myself.  I wasn’t sure what I expected. Nothing.  So why wake her up?

I got out of bed, and grabbed the rail sitting beside the door. I crept across the hall, and eased the door open. No one standing there. I did the whole make sure the room is clear thing, checked the closet and behind the doors. Nothing.  I turned, and saw my daughter sleeping the night away.  No one there. Nothing talking or singing to her.  I sighed.  I was just crazy.

I stood there and stared at her for almost an hour.  When she started to cry, and my wife walked in to feed her, she had a questioning look on her face. “You weren’t in the bed. How long have you been in here.”

“I heard something on the baby monitor.  Wanted to check. I didn’t realize how long I had been in here.”

“Well, there wasn’t anything, so go back to bed.”

“Okay… okay..”

“I shambled off as my wife snuggled our daughter close in the rocker.  I passed out on hitting the bed, and starting having restless dreams. I’m not sure how long I had been asleep when I woke. Something was wrong. And that’s when I realized my wife wasn’t there.  And the baby monitor was silent. I ran, and the room was empty. Neither was there. No sign of anything out of place.  I checked the whole house. I tried to call the 911 number but my phone wouldn’t work. I started running. I yelled.

Nothing was there.  The place was empty.  That’s when I heard the baby monitor crackling over and over again. I grabbed it and all I heard was “Welcome to hell…”

What do you think?

