Americorps!

AmeriCorps_Kentucky-2-11

For those of you who may not know – I am an Americorps Member!  I am a Kentucky College Coach through the Kentucky Campus Compact.  I happened across a job listing in July, and applied for this position.

I have been blessed to have found this job. Although not in my original plans when I graduated with my Masters, the people I have met while in this position have been more than worth the change in plans. I have made a couple of lifelong friends, met some wonderful people, and reconnected with a few from my undergrad days.  The work that AmeriCorps does is amazing.

On our AmeriCorps Launch in Frankfort, KY, we had a day of service.  We wrote thank you notes to Veterans, we packed over 40,000 meals for those needed it through Love The Hungry, and wrote over 1600 notes for children to go with Stuffed Animals for the police officers and public officers who help rescue children from scary situations – thanks to Kosair Charities/Bears on Patrol.

I have been reminded what a difference such a small thing can do, and therefore I want to remind all of you as well. Volunteer. Look for what needs to be done in your community. See a need and fill it.  I want to do so much more this year. I also want to continue doing it, and teach my son the same thing.

If you live in KY and are interested in being a Kentucky College Coach, we have two positions left open. Details below!

We are still seeking qualified candidates to fill the AmeriCorps Service/Job Opportunity of Kentucky College Coach at:

North Bullitt High School—Shepherdsville, KY

Valley High School—Louisville, KY

AmeriCorps Service/Job Opportunity Information for Host Schools

Position Title: Kentucky College Coach

Duration:  Immediately – June 30, 2016

Living Allowance/Pay:  $1,210 per month, depending on start date for term of service, in living allowance, less FICA and other applicable taxes

Benefits:  AmeriCorps healthcare and childcare eligibility, education award at the end of contract (approx. $2800), federal student loan forbearance eligibility, professional development, college access, and mentoring training events

Minimum Qualifications:  Bachelor’s degree, excellent communication and organizational skills, mentoring experience

Application Process:

  1. AmeriCorps Application Link: https://my.americorps.gov/mp/listing/viewListing.do?id=57564&fromSearch=true
  2. Required Screening Survey: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/collegecoaches
  3. Email a professional to Summer Gortney (sgortney@kheaa.com) and Kristen Hedgebeth (kristen.hedgebeth@kycompact.org)
What do you think?

