Storm Siren

stormsirenBy Mary Weber

Published by Thomas Nelson / HarperCollins, August 19th 2014

Page Count: Hardcover, 320 pages

Goodreads’ Description:

“I raise my chin as the buyers stare. Yes. Look. You don’t want me. Because, eventually, accidentally, I will destroy you.”
In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled.
As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male and always killed at birth — meaning, she shouldn’t even exist.
Standing on the auction block beneath smoke-drenched mountains, Nym faces her fifteenth sell. But when her hood is removed and her storm-summoning killing curse revealed, Nym is snatched up by a court advisor and given a choice: be trained as the weapon Faelen needs to win the war, or be killed.
Choosing the former, Nym is unleashed into a world of politics, bizarre parties, and rumors of an evil more sinister than she’s being prepared to fight . . . not to mention the handsome trainer whose dark secrets lie behind a mysterious ability to calm every lightning strike she summons.
But what if she doesn’t want to be the weapon they’ve all been waiting for?
Set in a beautifully eclectic world of suspicion, super abilities, and monsters, Storm Siren is a story of power. And whoever controls that power will win.

First off, the cover is great – the art will draw in a reader. I know, I know. Never judge a book by its cover.  But we all do it, and you know it. So the cover of this is interesting, with different elements but not too many. The tattoos are not quite what I imagined, but beautiful all the same. Her hair is striking (And I will be honest here – it is my fondest hope that my hair turns completely white as I age, so I LOVE it). 

The setting is Weber’s creation, a fantasy world of islands and kingdoms, warring against each other.  The world is full of new creatures, slaves, royalty, the rich and the poor, and Elementals. Weber describes the world well, though I do wish I had a few of the terms explained a little earlier, but then again, it’s all part of their world and therefore why would they be?  Maybe a glossary in the back (As Tamora Pierce) does would be helpful?  Still, it’s a minor point.  The world itself and everything within it is magical in her descriptions.

The writing, as demonstrated with the setting, is wonderful.  Weber truly knows how to turn a phrase, describe a character, build a whole new world, and slowly lure us in.  The ending is a twist I did not expect, and a few of the characters grace us with surprises of their own.  I am hardly ever shocked by something that happens within a novel but a few of the revelations in here surprised me.  It was great!  This is certainly an example of first person done well, and one I will study. 

The characters are all interesting, and well done.  The minor characters are even carefully thought out. I will say that the descriptions of what the royals/rich were wearing slightly reminded me of The Hunger Games (which is sad, but not her fault).  Nym progresses throughout the novel, discovering things about herself, her past and what her future can hold – as we discover along with her.  The world through her eyes is convincing, and never falters in writing.  Eogan is a character with different sides and not perfect, always refreshing.  Adora is certainly not a reflection of her name. I won’t mention others, as you just need to read the book and go find out!

The plot goes at a nice pace, never too slow or too quickly. The battle scenes are well done, and the tension just right.  I started this book in the afternoon, had to break to do a few other things, and finished it by 11 pm last night.  It grabs your attention, and you do not want to stop reading. I look forward to the next one.

Storm Siren is a thrilling, heart-wrenching tale set in a world easily imagined due to the writer’s excellent grasp of language and description.  It will have you laughing, tapping your fingers, and crying.  Does Nym give in and become a weapon so desperately needed to save her people? Or does she find a way out?  I implore you – buy the book and find out!

945028_398775560241271_1672043509_nThis is Mary Weber’s debut novel. You can buy it on Amazon for under $13. And I highly recommend that you do! I received an ebook version of this from BookLook Bloggers for an honest review. 

Mary Weber’s Facebook.

Mary Weber’s Website.

Mary Weber’s Twitter.

What do you think?

