A Book Lover’s Nightmare

http://www.gofundme.com/bjwnho

 

A terrible thing has happened to my sister-in-law, Amanda Leanne McCormick, A book lover’s nightmare. All her books I sent (probably about sixty, and some out of print, were LOST in the mail.)

A few years ago, she moved to California with her boyfriend (now husband), and had to leave everything here, including her books.

A couple of weeks ago, we found out about Media Mail, and decided that we could go through her books, which had been stored. After digging out about 15 boxes of books, loading them into my car, and then home, and going through them all on Skype, we packed them up and I sent them via Media Mail to her.

Today, she was delivered an empty box. She lost every single one of your books that she had. I did not get the insurance, because the lady at the PO told me that if I couldn’t proof where and how much I bought them for, they would give us barely anything, and I never imagined this.

I feel absolutely terrible, even though she keeps telling me it is not my fault. She introduced me to many of the great authors that I sent her. The post office is going to “investigate the matter” but I fear I will never get anything from them. One set of seven of the books I sent is $78 on ebay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/LOT-9-L-J-Smith-NIGHT-WORLD-SECRET-VAMPIRE-HUNTRESS-CHOSEN-SOULMATE-WITCHLIGHT-/120237763987?pt=US_Fiction_Books&hash=item1bfebaad93) and that’s only a fraction of what we need to replace.

What do you think?

