Writing Challenge: Day 6 – Start your story with: “He glanced at his watch impatiently…”

He glanced at his watch impatiently, waiting for the second hand to finally make it all the way around the circle.  A minute she said.  Wait just a minute. 

A minute, when you have to watch it pass, seems to last an hour.  When you pay attention to the time passing by you, it slows, stalls. You know how the say a watched pot never boils?  Well, there is some truth to that.  Just like the last book I read says, there are smaller infinities, and larger infinities, and even though this was a small infinity, it felt like a larger one.

Tick. Tick. Tick. Really.  Who counts the seconds?  Who says wait just a minute and then come in? And did she really mean a minute?

Tick.

I mean. What if it takes her more than a minute to do what she is doing?  What if I walk in too early and ruin it?

Tick.

Damn.  How do I decide this now? Maybe I’ll just knock on the door first? Or will she come get me?

Tick.

Screw it. I’ll just go in.

Tick. Only four more ticks… and finally!  A minute had passed.

He stood, and walked towards the bedroom door. He really hoped that the surprise he was getting was the surprise he wanted… He opened the door, and there she stood, in a graduation gown.

… “Honey?”

“I finished! I passed the class! I’m getting my degree!”

“That’s great!”

“You look disappointed…”

“Ah..well.. I thought maybe… it’s nothing. This is important – and great! I’m so proud of you.”

“Oh, I know what you wanted. Well, don’t be too disappointed.” Slowly she started to raise up the side of her gown. There was nothing underneath it. “I need to celebrate,” she said with a grin.

“Dear god, how I love you,” he said as he ran forward, grabbed her and spun her around.  They fell into the bed together, wrapped in the moment, looking towards the future.

What do you think?

